Small Animals, Big Hearts

By Kate Adams

You have probably seen a monkey in a zoo before, but did you know that some monkeys live in people’s homes? They don’t just live in anybody’s home; they live with people who are in wheelchairs who need help getting around. I learned about an organization called Helping Hands when a trainer from the Monkey College (where they teach the monkeys) came to teach Tenacre about the monkeys and the organization. In this organization, people train monkeys to do everyday activities to help people who can’t do them on their own. In the Helping Hands organization trainers teach the monkeys to pick up someone’s phone, work the T.V. remote, get a bottle of water, or turn the lights on or off. The monkeys are also very cute, and both the monkeys and humans love the company. The monkeys even know how to bathe themselves. Although, it takes a lot of time and work to teach these monkeys everyday skills, but the trainers are willing to do that.

People interested in this organization, have founded a college to teach these monkeys to be great helpers. There are many different steps to getting a monkey fully trained. First off, all the monkeys have to be fifteen years old to start training. The first task the monkeys are taught is called “bell training” when the monkey trainers ring a bell to indicate that the monkey has done a good job. The second step is called discrimination. The trainers line up a few wooden blocks, and point a laser pointer at one block, indicating that the monkey should pick it up, and get a lick of peanut butter. When the monkeys first arrive at the college the trainers award them with a lick of peanut butter or a walnut. As the monkeys get older the trainers just say, “good girl/boy.” The last step of training is held in a room that looks most like a person’s home. Teaching a monkey is a very long process and usually takes years.

Monkeys and humans are very much alike because they have very different personalities. Some monkeys take two years to graduate, while others may take five.  Some monkeys may enjoy bathtime,  while others do not. Sometimes, monkeys make friends with other monkeys at the college, and yet others choose to stick to themselves. Some play with toys or stuffed animals, and others enjoy eating peanut butter and walnuts. But, one thing they all have in common is they are all very helpful.

The monkeys in Helping Hands help people who are in wheelchairs, or people who can’t move or are paralyzed. Before the monkeys come to these people’s homes, the people can’t really work the T.V. remote, pick up anything they dropped on the floor, or turn the lights on or off independently. They would have to call someone if they had an itch on their nose. Once the monkeys come they can do it for them. Not only do these monkeys pick things up on the floor, but they provide companionship for the humans. These people, and the monkeys will now always have a friend with them. The longest connection between a monkey and a human was for twenty seven years. The monkeys and humans have an everlasting bond.

I think that it was a very good idea to start Helping Hands because it helps the humans and monkeys have a loving friend. Both the humans and monkeys enjoy the companionship, along with the help. If you are an animal lover and think you would like working with monkeys, Helping Hands is always looking for volunteers. This organization is very helpful for the humans who need a monkey and for the monkeys who need a human to love.                                          

 

     Resources

https://monkeyhelpers.org

   https://monkeyhelpers.org/meet-our-monkeys/profiles/walnuts-are-lisas-favorite-treat

 https://monkeyhelpers.org/meet-our-monkeys/profiles/heidi-loves-her-orange-hampster

10 thoughts on “Small Animals, Big Hearts

  1. WOW! that was really cool Kate. I remember having that assembly about the monkeys. You reminded me how cool it would be to have a monkey. Over all, amazing job Kate!

    Like

  2. I really like your article. I especially like your picture! I didn’t know about the bell training before, really cool. I think it was a good idea too, its nice to compony and help at the same time. Great job! 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow. Kate, this sounds really interesting. I have no more to say, because I can’t form the words to explain. Good Job!

    Like

  4. Nice Job on your article Kate! It’s really cool to know about all these monkeys and how they help other people. Do you think that you could get a trained monkey as a pet? It would be really cool to have a trained monkey. Overall I thought that your article was really interesting.

    Like

  5. Whoa. That’s very cool. It would be so amazing to have a MONKEY. I think it would be MORE amazing to BE a monkey. Heh heh. And then swing around the house. Anyway, well written article.

    Like

  6. Great Job! These monkeys are the cutest animals I have ever seen (besides dogs, I like them too). If I ever had one I would be in love with it , but the monkey would not want to work with me.

    Like

  7. Really cool Kate! It’s fascinating about how much these monkeys can do for disabled people. I wonder what it would be like having a monkey living in your house?

    Like

  8. Kate, I loved your article so much! It taught me a lot more about the monkey college and Helping Hands. The picture on the front made me want to read it just because of how cute it was! Monkeys are definitely one of my favorite animals and now I can work with one when I am older! (I hope I will!) Anyway, great article and really touching! Great job!

    Like

  9. Great job Kate! I learned so much about the monkeys in our article. I really enjoyed the assembly about helping hands. It was really interesting! The monkeys have such different personalities and I think that is what I most like about them. I think this is a great organization that helps bring companionship to those in need which is probably one of the most important things to me. It’s amazing how the human can bond with a monkey! Overall great job!

    Like

  10. Great article Kate! I loved your article so much! It was such a cool topic and I learned so much more about these amazing little monkeys! Great job!

    Like

Leave a comment